‘Glee’ Season 2 Premiere Songs Revealed!

The songs for the season premiere episode of Glee have been revealed and–in true Glee fashion–it will be a nice mix of pop and musical theater.

Rolling Stone reports that Jay-Z’s “Empire State of Mind,” Lady Gaga’s “Telephone,” Travie McCoy’s “Billionaire” and Poison’s “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” will all be performed by the talented Gleeks. Meanwhile, musical theater favorites like “What I Did for Love” from A Chorus Line and “Getting to Know You” from The King and I and Beyonce’s “Listen” from the film version of Dreamgirls will also be featured.

According to P.J. Bloom, the musical director of Glee, New York songs like “Empire State of Mind” are being featured because New Directions are heading to New York for Nationals. Gleeks probably already suspected that there would be a New York theme to the premiere episode after the cast was photographed wearing “New York City” t-shirts on set.

Want to get a preview of the Glee kids singing “Empire State of Mind”? Check out the season two promo below.

Season two of Glee will premiere on September 21st. The following week’s episode will be the long-awaited all Britney Spears episode, featuring a cameo by the pop princess herself!

Are you excited for the premiere of Glee? Share your thoughts in the comments below.