‘Harry Potter’ Franchise Getting Special BAFTA Award

'Harry Potter' Primer
All you'll ever need to know about the boy wizard.
Grint's Growth
Study the evolution of Rupert Grint.
Emma Watson's Evolution
Emma Watson from the beginning.
With the culmination of the wizarding epic Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 less than six months away, it’s time for the cast and crew that devoted 10 years of their lives to the project to start celebrating.

And that’s exactly what they’ll do at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards on February 13 at London’s Royal Opera House, where the film franchise in its entirety will be awarded a special honor entitled the Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema award. The series’ author J.K. Rowling along with the producer of all the films, David Heyman, will accept the award.

Potter is the highest-grossing film series of all time, not counting the untold money that will come from Part 2 (which will debut in 3D, a first for the series). The first seven films add up to an astonishing $5.57 billion worldwide at the box office, eclipsing the Star Wars series that stands at 5.49 billion after its 6 installments.

Do you think Deathly Hallows: Part 2 will live up to the hype? Tell us in the comments section.