Maksim Chmerkovskiy’s Former ‘Dancing With the Stars’ Costar Audrina Patridge Responds to Hope Solo Claims (EXCLUSIVE VIDEO)

at 8:00 am | By

When Olympic star Hope Solo partnered with pro Maksim Chmerkovskiy on Dancing with the Stars in Season 13 last year, he hit her stomach and slapper her — according to the gold medalist.

That couldn’t be true, at least in the eyes of Mak’s Season 11 costar Audrina Patridge.

“Maks can be aggressive… (but) I wouldn’t every say he’d ever hit anyone,” the ex-The Hills star told Celebuzz in an exclusive interview.

“He just knows what he wants and that’s just his personality,” explained the 27-year-old, who was teamed with pro Tony Dovolani in 2010. (Chmerkovskiy danced with R&B and pop recording artist Brandy during that same series.)

“He’s very blunt and he knows what he wants — he wants to do good. He’s not grey, he’s either black and white.”

Added Patridge: “He can be really sweet too.”

The Olympian recounted the brutal rehearsals in her memoir, Solo: A Memoir of Hope — and last week, she opened up about her experience with Chmerkovskiy on Chelsea Lately.

Solo said she didn’t physically respond to Chmerkovskiy’s slap because of the cameras, fearing that the final edit would make her look like “the bad guy.”

Instead, she took off her mic “and threw it and left the studio.”

Chmerkovski has denied Solo’s allegations completely.

According to Patridge, all DWTS professionals — not just Chmerkovskiy — have one thing on their minds: to take home the mirror ball trophy.

“They’re all very competitive,” she told Celebuzz. “They want to win.”

Regardless of the controversy, Chmerkovskiy will be back on the dance floor partner with Kirstie Alley for season 15, where for the first time ever, previous contestants will return to the ballroom to vie for the coveted mirror ball trophy.

As ABC has announced, Olympians and former “DWTS” winners Apolo Ohno (Season 4) and Shawn Johnson (Season 8) will compete, along with fellow champs from seasons’ past: former 98 Degrees member Drew Lachey (Season 2), former Dallas Cowboy star Emmitt Smith (Season 3), Brazilian race car driver Helio Castroneves (Season 5) and soap star Kelly Monaco (Season 1).

Actresses Pamela Anderson (Season 10) and Kirstie Alley (Season 12), French actor and finalist Gilles Marini (Season 8) and former ‘N Sync singer Joey Fatone (Season 4), are also among those selected.

Bristol Palin (Season 11), daughter of former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin — and TV personality Melissa Rycroft (Season 8) — round out the pack.

Patridge admitted to Celebuzz she was “a little bit” disappointed not to have been selected, noting it was “challenging and fun” and she would have done it again “in a heartbeat.”