Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert Named 2012 CMT Artists of the Year

Carrie in 'Sound of Music'
Underwood will star as Maria Von Trapp on the NBC Broadcast.
Country Music Television has named its artists of the year!

Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church and Toby Keith each received the CMT title on Saturday night, during a 90-minute special hosted by the Rascal Flatts and Nashville star Hayden Panettiere.

The TV special, which was pre-taped earlier this month, attracted big names like Kid Rock, Sheryl Crow, Kenny Rogers and Ludacris.

Morgan Freeman also recorded a special message for Chesney, who was also named CMT Artist of the Year in 2011.

Underwood, 29, has had a huge year thanks to the success of her fourth studio album Blown Away. The album as sold nearly one-million copies since debuting at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart in May. Underwood is currently on the North American leg of a tour in support of the album. She’s also set to star on NBC’s live broadcast of The Sound of Music in 2013.

Meanwhile, Lambert has still been riding on the success of her 2011 release Four the Record, which has sold more than 659,000 copies in the U.S. alone. The songstress is set to begin a tour in 2013, with initial dates in South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

For Aldean, this is third year in a row that CMT has honored him with the Artist of the Year title. The 35-year-old’s fifth studio album Night Train had a huge debut in October, selling some 400,000 copies in its first week in the U.S.

Who was your favorite country music artist of 2012? Sound off below.

Celebuzz Single Player No Autoplay (CORE)
No changes are to be made to this player