Every Video of the Year Award Winner in VMAs History

Rihanna to Receive the Video Vanguard Award at the 2016 MTV VMAs
Rihanna will receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award the 2016 MTV VMAs
Britney Spears and Her Python Will Be Back for the 2016 MTV VMAs, Bitch
Britney Spears will return to the VMAs stage for the first time since her performance in 2007

Since the MTV VMA’s start in 1984, 32 Moonmen for Video of the Year have been taken home by a long list of legendary artists. 

One of this year’s contenders for the biggest award of the night will soon be added to the list, those artists being Adele (“Hello”), Beyoncé (“Formation”), Drake (“Hotline Bling”), Justin Bieber (“Sorry”), and of course, Kanye West (“Famous”).

While some past winners don’t exactly ring a bell (does anyone remember who 1997 winner Jamiroquai is?), others like Madonna, Aerosmith, and Lady Gaga have gone down in MTV VMA history as some of the show’s biggest winners.

Early winners of the coveted award include greats like Neil Young, Sinead O’Connor, and TLC. In recent years, the award has mostly gone to big-name pop stars, including the only two-time Video of the Years winners, Eminem and Rihanna.

Ri-Ri, who will be receiving the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at this year’s VMAs, won Video of the Year in 2007 for “Umbrella” and again in 2012 for “We Found Love.”

Scroll through the gallery below to see all 32 of the past VMA Video of the Year winners: