2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Include Tupac, Journey

The members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017 were announced on Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016.

Tupac Shakur, Joan Baez, and Pearl Jam were among the six performing acts that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame this coming year. The three other inductees include Electric Light Orchestra, Yes and Journey, who is best known for their song “Don’t Stop Believin’.” Producer, songwriter and guitarist Nile Rodgers will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

An exhibit at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleaveland honoring the careers of the new inductees will open on March 30 and the 32nd annual induction ceremony will occur on April 7 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY.

“Rock and roll means so many things to so many different people,” says the Hall of Fame CEO Joel Peresman [via USA TODAY]. “To have a class that has everything from Joan Baez to Tupac Shakur, from Pearl Jam to Yes, is terrific. It gives a lot of people something to hang onto.”

While some have criticized the Hall of Fame for considering Shakur’s music as rock and roll, Perseman stands by their decision. “[Rock and roll is] a broad definition and we consider hip-hop an important part of the whole genre,” he said.

Shakur, Pearl Jam, Baez, Journey, and ELO are all first-time nominees. Other nominees that were considered this year were Chaka Khan, Depeche Mode, and Janet Jackson.